DIY-spiration: Pastries, Sweets, and Desserts!

Traveling throughout Italy and Europe has introduced me to remarkable art, breathtaking views, and…. delicious sweets and desserts! For me, a big part of experiencing new cultures is trying different types of food, and I have a special fondness for all things sugary and sweet. Mmmm….Desserts have always been an inspiration for me, maybe because I love them so much!  My cat macaron plush and mooncake charm are some of my favorite tutorials 🙂

For me, desserts aren’t just guilty pleasures; their delicate forms and compositions are truly works of art. From cute, fluffy creampuffs to elaborately layered tarts, the pastries in Europe are both delectable and a beauty to behold. I wanted to share with you guys my own mini “recipe book” of dessert DIYs, but of course the ingredients will be fabric and cotton stuffing!

brioche instructions

Brioche with a cappuccino is one of my breakfast favorites! I had this particularly amazing Nutella and white chocolate cream combination at a bar in Rome. Soft, buttery pastry combined with rich sweetness of the creams…. Well, I think it would make an adorable and tasty looking plushie 🙂

strawberry and pistacchio tart intsructions

One of my favorite parts of Paris was the amazing and decadent selection of pastries, and I only regret I could not eat more! This strawberry tart had a crisp base layered with pistachio (also apologies for the misspelling in the picture!), a light custard cream, and juicy, fresh strawberries. The beautiful colors and diverse textures would make it a beautiful DIY project.

upside down apple cake instructions

I made this upside-down apple cake in my Italian cooking class. The base was layered with lemon zest and the apples were stewed in homemade caramel. To mimic the layers of the cake and also to minimize sewing, I would suggest building up the fabric by layering and glueing!

Of course, all of these DIY projects are pretty hypothetical, since I don’t have access to sewing supplies. However, I just wanted to share the cuteness and happiness these pastries brought me, and I will definitely post the actual creations when I make them! Let me know which one looks the tastiest to you 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “DIY-spiration: Pastries, Sweets, and Desserts!

Leave a comment